## **BYLAW 2020-21** – (**LU2020-11**) PUBLIC HEARING MINUTES – AUGUST 18, 2020

A Public Hearing for Bylaw 2020-21 was held at the Wheatland County office and via conference call in accordance with the Municipal Government Act, Section 199.

## Participants:

Wheatland County Council:

Jason Wilson – Councillor, Division 1

Amber Link (Reeve) – Councillor, Division 2

Donna Biggar – Councillor, Division 3

Tom Ikert – Councillor, Division 4

Scott Klassen (Deputy Reeve) - Councillor, Division 5

Glenn Koester – Councillor, Division 6 Ben Armstrong – Councillor, Division 7

Wheatland County Staff:

Brian Henderson – Chief Administrative Officer

Matthew Boscariol - General Manager of Community & Development Services

Michael Ziehr – General Manager of Transportation & Agriculture Tracy Buteau – General Manager of Corporate & Financial Services

Megan Williams – Planner II Graham Allison – Planner I

Diane Bodie – Recording Secretary

**Public Participants** 

Three members of the public participated in the public hearing via conference call.

9:07 am Call to Order

Call to Order by the Chair

The Chair, Reeve Link called the Public Hearing to order at 9:07 a.m.

Intro/Notifications

Note: all public notification requirements were met in accordance with the Municipal Government Act (MGA).

Application

A Bylaw of Wheatland County for the purpose of amending Land Use Bylaw No. 2016-01 to redesignate +/- 156.01 acres within NE-4-22-25-W4M, from Agricultural General District to Natural Resource Extraction District as shown on the attached Schedule 'A' forming part of this bylaw.

Presentation

M. Williams, Planner II, presented the request for decision for Bylaw 2020-21. The application is to redesignate +/- 156.01 acres from Agricultural General District to Natural Resource Extraction District to facilitate a natural resource extraction development permit application. Note: the request for decision and supporting documents were provided to Council for review prior to the public hearing; a copy of the documents was included in the Council agenda package.

Comments

On behalf of LaFarge (the Developer), J. Weslowski (Land Manager) and T. Biswanger (Rural Area Manager) highlighted the following: site history; proposal for a natural resource extraction development; operation. On behalf of the property owners, R. Kettenbach discussed the following: traffic volume; road use; type of operation; site history.

9:46 am Close

## Call to Close by the Chair

The Chair, Reeve Link, closed the Public Hearing – time 9:46 a.m.

Note: these minutes are intended as a summary of the comments of the Public Hearing and not a verbatim recording of the discussion.

Chairperson – A. Link (Reeve)

Chief Administrative Officer – B. Henderson

Recording Secretary – D. Bodie